# FINAL MONTEREY COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING APRIL 21, 2004 MINUTES

The Planning Commission met at 9:05 a.m. at the Board of Supervisors Chambers of the Courthouse at 240 Church Street, Salinas, California.

# A. ROLL CALL

Present: Miguel Errea, Sharon Parsons, Lawrence Hawkins, Cosme Padilla, Keith Vandevere,

John Wilmot (Chair), Martha Diehl (Vice Chair), Aurelio Salazar, Don Rochester and

Juan Sanchez

Absent: none

Commissioner Wilmot gave an overview of the General Plan Special Meeting and its goals, timelines and agenda procedural process. The Planning Commission will discuss their final subcommittee recommendations on the Draft General Plan to the Board of Supervisors.

#### B. SCHEDULED ITEMS

• CONTINUED PUBLIC HEARING ON THE PUBLIC REVIEW DRAFT OF THE 21<sup>st</sup> CENTURY MONTEREY COUNTY GENERAL PLAN TO: 1) CONSIDER THE PUBLIC TESTIMONY AND PLANNING COMMISSION SUBCOMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS, AND 2) ADOPT RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS.

Lynn Burgess, Senior Administrative Analyst, introduced two minor edits to the draft plan:

- **1. Lynn Burgess** referred to page two of Errata Sheet, under map corrections, listed under Land Use Designation; recommends to remove change for the Toro Area.
- 2. Jared Ikeda, Senior Administrative Analyst, recommends changes to Table 3C, page 114, of the General Plan Update, which references different funding sources for road and transportation improvements. TAMC would like to make our table consistent with their anticipated funding program.

The Planning Commissioners reviewed and discussed the Subcommittee's Recommendations for changes to the General Plan Update.

## **Public Comments:**

- 1. Rod McMahan
- 2. Paula Lotz
- 3. Wilt Keagley
- 4. Hans Jorgens
- 5. Jonathon Berkey
- 6. Jennifer Lindel
- 7. Lidia Contreras

- 8. Mr. Pacheco
- 9. Susano Martinez
- 10. Martin Rodriguez
- 11. Margaret Robbins
- 12. Diane Russell
- 13. Marjorie Kay
- 14. LuAnn Meador

Broke for lunch at 12:00 noon Reconvened at 1:35 p.m.

- 15. David Evans
- 16. Brian Finegan
- 17. Nancy Isakson
- 18. John Bridges
- 19. Tom Carvey
- 20. Gary Patton
- 21. Christine Kemp
- 22. Brad Sullivan
- 23. Jan Mitchell
- 24. Carolyn Anderson
- 25. Marit Evans

Commissioner Diehl moved, seconded by Commissioner Hawkins, to Adopt a Resolution of Intent to approve the Planning Commission Subcommittee Report, dated April 21, 2004, with the changes they made in the meeting, and to continue the hearing to April 28, 2004 to adopt a final resolution.

AYES: Erra, Parsons, Hawkins, Padilla, Vandevere, Wilmot, Diehl, Salazar, Rochester,

Sanchez

NOES: None Absent: None ABSTAIN: None

## C. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 3:40 p.m. the meeting was adjourned.

ATTEST		
Jeff Main, Secretary		

JM:een